Heritage in Aveyron
all sites to visit
In Orlhaguet, one of the most beautiful villages in the north Aveyron, nicknamed the "Nice of the mountain" come and discover a series of 13 sculpted crosses from the 15th and 16th centuries that naturally lead you to the fortified church, half Romanesque, half Gothic, surmounted by massive defence constructions dating from the 14th century.
Discover the village of Estaing and its history: 15th century Saint Fleuret church, the Gothic bridge and college (early 16th century), the picturesque alley-ways and heritage curiosities. Free selguided-tour map of the village available at the information center. Guided tours on request (from groups of 10 only)
The abbey of Bonneval, from the 12th century, was initially a monastery of the Cistercian order, then aboned in the revolution, the ruins were rebuil in 1875 by a community of Trappistines. The nuns lived from their manual work, and made excellent chocolate: the famous chocolate of Bonneval.
Nestling in an agreeable natural setting away from prying eyes, this priory situated on the route de Mauriac on the edge of Saint Beauzély represents a charming haven of peace. Each year in august the priory holds a concert as part of the Festival de Musiques Sacrées de Sylvanès (Sylvanès religious music festival).
It is said that in the late 15th century there lived in St-Geniez a fisherman whose two children had captured a gopher. The little animal ran off scared on a stormy afternoon. The two children ran after it when a violent storm started and immersed the valley in a real deluge. On their return, several houses, including theirs had been washed away. By fleeing the little animal had saved their lives. They were nicknamed "the Marmots". By extension the name was given to all the inhabitants.